Maryland’s Marijuana Legalization: Understanding Changes to Possession Laws
On July 1, 2023, the laws in Maryland were changed, and it became legal for persons aged 21 and older to possess and use small amounts of cannabis for recreational purposes. With this change comes many questions about the new rules for possession and usage. At The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani, we are here to help when you have been charged with possession, DUI, or DWI. We are a law firm devoted to criminal defense, and we can offer clarification on Maryland’s laws and how they affect you.
Following are some of our clients’ more frequent questions and concerns regarding Maryland’s new marijuana legalization laws.
Cannabis Amounts Allowed
According to the new legislation, persons 21 years of age and older are allowed to possess 1.5 ounces of cannabis flower, 12 grams of concentrated cannabis, OR a total amount of cannabis products that do not exceed a total of 750 mg of THC. This amount is referred to as the “personal use amount.”
Where Cannabis Is and Is Not Allowed
Cannabis is not allowed in public places such as parks, restaurants, and public transportation. It is also not allowed in indoor places of employment or in a motor vehicle. Bear in mind that cannabis is still not legal at the federal level, so you cannot possess or use it on federal property. Also, cannabis cannot be transported across state lines.
Cannabis & Persons Under 21 Years of Age
People under the age of 21 are not allowed to possess any amount of non-medical cannabis. If you are under 21 and found to be in possession of 2.5 ounces or less, you may be fined, court-ordered to attend a drug education program, or referred for assessment and possible treatment for having a substance abuse problem. Possession of 2.5 ounces or less is considered to be a civil matter. In comparison, possession of more than 2.5 ounces is considered to be a criminal matter and may result in stiffer penalties.
To obtain guidance with the possession charges you are facing, contact our firm, The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani.
Ability to Sell Cannabis
The new Maryland law specifies that only licensed businesses are allowed to sell cannabis. People or businesses that are not licensed and sell cannabis can face imprisonment and a fine. It is legal to share recreational cannabis with another adult who is 21 years of age or older. No more than the personal use amount may be shared, and the only money that can be paid is remuneration.
Driving While Impaired by Marijuana
It is illegal to drive while impaired by any substance, including marijuana. While the changes in Maryland law no longer allow officers to stop or search your car based on the smell of marijuana alone, it is still possible to be charged with driving while impaired (marijuana). Should you find yourself charged with this, contact an attorney at The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani immediately for assistance.
Charged With Driving White Impaired by Marijuana or Possession of Marijuana? Speak with Maryland Criminal Defense Attorney Cynthia Christiani
If you have been charged with driving while impaired by marijuana, possessing a drug, or any other alcohol or drug-related crime, contact The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani. We are a firm dedicated to assisting our clients through some of the most difficult trials of their lives, and we have the experience you are looking for in an attorney. We may be reached via our contact page.