Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Explained By A Perry Hall DUI Lawyer
If you are arrested for DUI in Maryland, you will likely be taken into police custody and released a few hours later. Your actions from the time you are stopped by law enforcement until your case is heard in court can affect the final outcome of the charges you face and your ability to drive legally in Maryland. Because of this, it is imperative that you have guidance, as early as possible, from a well-versed Perry Hall DUI lawyer to help you achieve the best possible outcome available to you. At The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani, LLC, we focus our practice on criminal defense and strive to provide every client with the representation they need and deserve.
An Explanation of Maryland DUI Laws & Regulations
DUI laws exist to stop intoxicated people from endangering their own life and the lives of others by driving. When you are charged with DUI, you face substantial penalties and sanctions. Too often, law enforcement, in an attempt to thwart drunk driving, is overzealous in their application of the law. When this happens, a Perry Hall DUI lawyer can help.
Existing laws vary in penalties and sanctions depending on the number of times you have been convicted as well as the length of time that has passed since your last conviction. For a first-time DUI, you face a fine of not more than $1,000 and imprisonment not to exceed 1 year or both. For a second offense, the punishment is double that, as you can receive a fine of more than $2,000 and imprisonment not to exceed two years or both.
In addition to the fines and incarceration, you will face a battle with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). Whether or not you submitted to the breathalyzer testing, and the results if you did, will help determine whether or not your license is revoked or suspended. A Perry Hall DUI lawyer can provide more guidance on this subject.
DUI vs. DWI: What’s the difference?
DUI and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are two separate offenses in Maryland. Per MD Criminal Law Code §2-501, a charge of being “under the influence of alcohol per se” (or DUI) is typically sought for a BAC of over 0.08%. DWI is driving while impaired by alcohol or other drugs. A breathalyzer measures blood alcohol concentration (BAC), which is how many grams of alcohol are present per 210 liters of breath or grams of alcohol per 100 liters of blood.
A Perry Hall DUI Lawyer from The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani, LLC, Can Help
If you have been charged with a DUI, you need dependable representation from a skilled Perry Hall DUI lawyer. At The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani, LLC, we provide clients with a personalized defense that best supports their case. Contact us to learn more about the inclusive criminal defense services we offer.