A Perry Hall Assault Lawyer Explains Assault Charges In Maryland
If you have been charged with assault in Maryland, you need to take it seriously, as a conviction for assault can carry stiff penalties resulting in incarceration. Retaining a Perry Hall assault lawyer from The Law Office of Cynthia Christiani, LLC, can help provide you with the best defense possible, no matter the criminal charges you face.
When a person touches another without their consent or without legal justification, an assault has occurred. This includes circumstances under which a person feels the touch will occur, even if it does not. Maryland differentiates between different types of assaults, and the penalties vary according to the severity of the assault.
Different Types of Assault Charges & Associated Penalties
There are two types of assault charges in Maryland, first-degree assault and second-degree assault.
First Degree Assault
First-degree assault is a felony charge, and it occurs when a person intentionally causes or attempts to cause “serious physical injury to another.” It can also involve assault with a firearm and “intentionally strangling another.” First-degree assault can carry a penalty of imprisonment not to exceed 25 years.
Second Degree Assault
Second-degree assault is a misdemeanor that carries a monetary fine not exceeding $2500 and up to 10 years in prison. The fine amount can double, and the charge can be defined as a felony, if the person assaulted is a member of law enforcement, a parole or probation agent, or a first responder. Second-degree assault is often referred to as “simple assault.”
If you are charged with aggravated assault, the prosecutor will review your case and decide on a specific charge, although it will typically be a first-degree assault as it is a violent crime. With aggravated assault, there are generally serious injuries, and the perpetrator’s actions must have been such that they could have caused severe bodily harm to the injured party.
Battery is undesired physical contact with another and is a form of assault in Maryland. According to the circumstances, it can be considered a first-degree or second-degree assault. Your Perry Hall assault lawyer can explain more about the difference as it applies to your circumstances.
Reckless endangerment is placing another person at risk of severe injury or death. It can also include discharging a firearm from a motor vehicle. A conviction carries a fine not over $5,000 and/or incarceration not to exceed five years.
Importance of Hiring A Perry Hall Assault Lawyer When Facing Charges
The statutory and case law surrounding assault charges in Maryland can be confusing and hard to understand when you are not well-versed in their interpretation and application. The importance of having a Perry Hall assault lawyer to assist you through the process cannot be over-emphasized.